HPCA Dharamshala to host ODI on December 10 after a gap of 14 months


HPCA Stadium in Dharamshala.
city air news file photo

Dharamshala, October 4, 2017: Hoping no clash with on coming assembly election dates in Himachal, Visiting Sri Lanka cricket team shall open its ODI tour at Dharamshala on 10th December this year. As per the Board of Control for Cricket in India, announcement of the itinerary for Sri Lanka's tour of India later next month, after playing three Test series at Kolkata, Nagpur and Delhi from 16 November to 6 December Sri Lankan team shall start its three One-Day Internationals matches campaign at HPCA stadium in Dharamshala on December 10. The other two ODIs shall be played at Mohali and Vizag on December 13 and 17.
This shall be the fourth ODI at Dharamshala after a gap of 14 months. This shall be the 1 st between ODI between India and Sri Lanka, earlier England played against India here in 2013,West Indies in 2014 and New Zealand in 2016. Out of three ODIs played earlier India has one two, loosing the one against England. 330 for 6 in 50 overs is the highest ODI score registered here , made by India against West Indies and1 90 all out in 43.5 overs is the lowest by any team registered by New Zealand at HPCA Dharamshala. The weather in early December shall be fairly pleasant here for this day and night encounter.

Sri Lankan tour comprises of three Tests, three one-dayers and as many Twenty20 Internationals, kicks off on November 16 in Kolkata. Sri Lanka will also play a three-day warm-up match before the first Test in Kolkata.
While the three Tests will be played in Kolkata, Nagpur and Delhi, the One-Day International series will begin on December 10 in Dharamsala, moving to Mohali (December 13) to finish in Vizag on December 17.
The T20Is will be played in the penultimate week of December on alternate days starting December 20 in Cuttack before moving to Indore (December 22) and the culmination of the tour in Mumbai on December 24. Thiruvananthapuram, that had initially been allotted a T20I against Sri Lanka, will instead now host New Zealand for a T20I on November 7. It has swapped fixtures with Cuttack.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017