Rtn. Jaspal Singh Sidhu is President 2021-22 of Rotary Club Chandigarh

Rtn. Sukhjit Singh Gill, the outgoing President presented the collar of leadership to Rtn Jaspal Singh Sidhu

Rtn. Jaspal Singh Sidhu is President 2021-22 of Rotary Club Chandigarh

Chandigarh:  Rtn Jaspal Singh Sidhu was installed here today as the President of Rotary Club of Chandigarh for the year 2021-22.

Rtn. Sukhjit Singh Gill, the outgoing President presented the collar of leadership to Rtn Jaspal Singh Sidhu.

Past Rotary International President 2011-12, Rtn Kalyan Banerjee was the chief guest and Past Rotary International President 1991-92, Rajendra K Saboo, a member of the Rotary Club of Chandigarh, graced the occasion with District Governor Ajay Madan as the Guest of Honour.

Chief Guest Rtn Kalyan Banerjee from Vapi Gujarat said that to increase Rotary membership worldwide it is time to give chance to youth and bring in young blood and the Rotaractors into Rotary fold. He also implored Rotarians to tackle the issue of drug addition amongst young population in Punjab through special initiatives.

District Governor Ajay Madan said that it is a proud year for the Rotary world which is again being led by the fourth Indian to be the Rotary International as President, Shekhar Mehta.

He asked Rotarians each Rotarian to bring in at least one Rotarian into the family of Rotary and hoped that 1000 new members would be added in District 3080 by 10th July.

He highlighted various projects for clubs to undertake including donation of 10,000 school benches, 1 lakh of blood units, plantation of 15 lakh trees in the District, besides organ donation, Covid vaccination, cervical cancer vaccnination, etc.

Past Rotary International President Rajendra K Saboo recalled the rich legacy of the Club which was formed in May 1958 with the then Justice R.P. Khosla as the first charter president of the Club, and many more members of the Club who rose to hold positions of authorities in High Courts and Supreme Courts as honourable justices including Justice MM Punchhi, Justice AS Anand, and many others.

The Club’s board of directors for 2021-22 includes Vice President Dr.Dinesh Dua, Secretary Rashi Adlakha, Treasurer Baldev Garg, Joint Secretary Kulbir Dogra, Director Club Service Anil Chadha, Director Vocational Service Lalita Grover, Directors Community Service Vanita Talwar and Rahul Bansal , Director International Service Gurmeet S Chawla,, and Director Youth Affairs Suditi Jindal, and Rtn Shuchita Luthra as Sergeant at Arms.

Others in the new board of directors include Past RI President Rajendra K Saboo, Past District Governors Madhukar Malhotra and Praveen Goyal, and club president for 2022-23 Vinod Kapoor.

Rotarian dignitaries who attended the Rotary Club Chandigarh’s installation included past district governors Arun Sharma, Manmohan Singh, Devinder P Kalra, David Hilton, Satish Saluja, Dr Gulshan Thakral, Arun Honi, Shaju Peter, Assistant Governor Salil Bali, Presidents and members of many neighbouring clubs.

Rtn Sukhjit Singh Gill provided an overview of the major landmark projects that the Club had undertaken during 2020-21 which included providing relief to the needy during lockdown and providing medical supplies to the PGI, General Hospital, and setting up Covid centres.

Condolences were expressed to demise of Rtn Past RI Director Yash Pal Das, Rtn PDG Kawal Bedi, mother of RI President Shekhar Mehta, and wife Mohini Singh of late Rtn Pres. Col A.B. Singh, DGN Naveen Gulati