Panel discussion on CAA and NRC held

Event organised by Doaba College

Panel discussion on CAA and NRC held

Jalandhar: PG department of Journalism and Mass Communication of Doaba College, Jalandhar organized a Panel Discussion on CAA and NRC . Sh. Chander Mohan, President-Arya Shiksha Mandal and College Managing Committee,  Sh. Amit Sharma-Resident Editor, Dainik Jagran, Sh. Satnam Manak- Executive Editor, Daily Ajit and Dr. Vineet Mehta graced the occasion of the panelists. 

The dignitaries were accorded a hearty welcome by Principal  Dr. Naresh Kumar Dhiman, Dr. Simran Sidhu-Head, Faculty and 130 students.  Students- Shaina, Manju, Abha and Kanika acted as moderators and  Rashi, Sukhvir, Sandeep, Archana, Manpreet and Rahul  actively participated in the discussion.

Sh. Chander Mohan opined that employment, health and education are the issues that need to be raised instead of religion and caste based divisions. He added that the ongoing protest against CAA voice and concern of the masses. He said that unconstitutional implementation of CAA has undoubtedly marred the image of our nation at the international level. Satnam Manak said “In present time , there is an urgent need of dialogue between the protestor and the government. India is a secular state and upholding it’s constitution means that it can’t be divided on the basis of religion” Amit Sharma, said that the implementation of CAA means that India upholds its moral responsibility in rescuing the persecuted minorities in other nations.

Students of the department actively participated in the discussion and asked various questions related to the same. Dr. Simran Sidhu said that Citizenship Amendment Act has led to numerous pro and against agitations in the country but the need of the hour is to hold fruitful and meaningful debate on the issue under the guidelines of constitution of the country. Dr. Naresh kumar Dhiman appreciated the efforts of the students. In the end Dr. Simran Sidhu along with principal honoured the esteemed panelists.  Prof. Priya Chopra, Prof. Gurpreet Singh, Prof. Harman, Prof. Chandani Mehta, Prof. Vibha Trikha, Prof. Irfan Lone, Prof. Deepak Sharma were present during the discussion.