Aditi Reddy wins Women’s Singles of 4th Edition of CDK Global Corporate Badminton League 2016


Winners of the 4th Edition of Corporate Badminton League 2016.
photo: city air news

Hyderabad, November 6, 2016: Aditi Reddy of Gencruch, a startup company and the defending champion of Women’s Singles Title clinches title 4th time in a row. She won Women’s Singles of 4th Edition of CDK Global Corporate Badminton League 2016 defeating her rival Annie George in straight sets with a score 21-11 and 21-09.

She walked away with rupees twenty five thousand cash prize and other freebies.

In a nerve biting men’s finals, Harsha Reddy Gunampalle of Deutron emerged winner defeating his rival Uday Tiruvanallur of Optum Global Solutions. And won rupees twenty five thousand cash prize.

Mr. Reddy Malledi, Managing Director, CDK Global India gave away the prizes.

Speaking immediately after winning the match, Aditi Reddy said that she was very happy to win the Women’s Singles Title fourth time in succession. While feeling happy about her victory, she said competition in men’s category is hotting up. She wants to see more competition in women’s category too. She wants more and more corporate women to get into Badminton. She also promised to promote the tournament among fellow women colleagues in the corporate sector.

Harsha Reddy felt happy to win the title and thanked all those at Madhuranagar Indoor Stadium for crafting his victory.

Karan S and Vishwanath from ICCI and IBM Won Men’s Doubles; Annie George, V. Sowmya of TCS and Amazon won Women’s Doubles and Avinash Bangaru and Annie George of TCS won Mixed Doubles.

Praveen Jabaraj J and Raghu Vamsi Pudi of Wipro were runners up in Men’s Doubles; Aastha Sexena and Deepthi Jitta of Mylan and Infosys in Women’s Doubles and B. Rakesh and Kushboo B from Hansa Cequity and Virtusa in Mixed Doubles.

Runners Up were given away cash prize of Rs 12,500/- each in case of singles and per team in case of double and Mixed Doubles.

An Inclusive Badminton” was introduced first time this year. It is called as “Plate Champion” which provided an opportunity for those losers in initial rounds to play again. It was the league within the league, where the losers of initial rounds got to play and win prizes money as well. This is introduced to encourage losers of initial rounds to get engaged and encouraged.

The winners of Plate Championship are B. Rakesh in Men’s Singles; Dr. Seema Pulla in Women’s Singles; Harsha Kumar and MD Irfan in Men’s Doubles; Jala Parvathi and Sushmitha Sowmya in Women’s Doubles and R. subbalaxmi and MD Irfan in Mixed Doubles. The winners of the Plate Championship were presented with a cash prize of Rs 3000/- each/Team and Rs 2000/- for Runners up.

The 4th Edition of CDK Global’s Corporate Badminton League (CBL) which kicked off on Friday at Pullela Gopichand Badminton Academy received an overwhelming response. Over 500 participants from 190 plus corporate houses from across India participated in the 3 day Badminton League

The three day event, one of India’s first National Inter-Corporate Badminton Tournament was organized jointly by CDK Global India, Pullela Gopichand Badminton Academy and Shikhara Events.

The players from some of the corporate houses who participated include ICICI, IBM, Wipro, Microsoft, Cyient, Cognizant,Honeywell Technologies, Vasavi Hospital, Genpact, Apollo Hospitals, Aparna Constructions, Accenture, CDK Global India, KPTI Technology, BHEL, Bank of America, Google, TCS, Infosys, Lemon Tree Hotels, Accenture, Azim Premji Foundation, Oracle, Care Hospitals, Dr. Reddy Labs, Mahindra, Century Hospitals, Synchrony Financial, Kony Labs, Deloitt, L&T Technology Services, OYO Rooms and many others.

Mr. Reddy Malledi, Managing Director, CDK Global India, said “We are extremely pleased to be associated with PGBA for the second time for the Corporate Badminton League. Our focus remains on promoting a healthier lifestyle among corporate employees by creating awareness about sports, fitness, and the importance of physical activity.

CBL is open to all non-seeded individuals working in the Indian corporate sector. The league featured men's and women's singles, doubles, and mixed doubles championships. The tournament was conducted in a knock-out format of the best of 3 Sets (Singles and Doubles). All the matches were played at the PGBA Indoor facility at Hyderabad.

The winners took home cash prizes along with the coveted Pullela Gopichand Trophy.

Score---Men’s Singles
Harsha Reddy Gunampalle (Deutron) Beat Uday Tiruvanallur (Optum Global Solutions) 21-14 21-14 .

Women’s Singles
O Aditi Reddy (1) (Gencrunch) Beat Annie George (2) TCS 21-9 21-11 .

Men’s Doubles
Karan S (ICICI) and Vishwanath (1) (IBM) Beat Praveen Jebaraj J and Raghu Vamsi Pudi (4) (Wipro) 21-17 21-7 .

Women’s Doubles
Annie George (TCS) and V Sowmya (Amazon) Beat Aastha Saxena Mylan and Deepthi Jitta (Infosys Ltd)18-21 21-14 21-17 .

Mixed Doubles
Avinash Bangaru and Annie George (TCS) Beat B Rakesh (Hansa Cequity) and Kushboo B (Virtusa) 21-9 22-20 .

Sunday, November 6, 2016