WORLD CUP KABBADI 2012: Denmark b Canada in women Kabbadi


Women Kabbadi Match between Denmark and Canada at Doda (Sri Mukatsar Sahib) during 3rd World Cup Kabaddi on Wednesday.

Doda (Sri Muktsar Sahib), December 5, 2012:  Hot favourite Indian Kabbadi team today initiated its hunt for the world Kabbadi title by decisively defeating Canadian team with a margin of 57-28.

In the women Kabbadi tournament, Denmark’s stopper Teressa set a new world record by scoring 17 points in a single match. These were the thrilling moment of the day on the fifth day of the third world Cup Kabbadi. Three league matches were played at the Stadium of village Doda in District Sri Muktsar Sahib.

Parkash Singh Badal Chief Minister Punjab formally inaugurated the match between teams of Denmark and Afghanistan. Denmark won the match by a margin of 55-33 points. At the end of the first half Denmark’s team was leading with point difference of 30-15. Denmark’s raiders Daljinder pal Singh, Jaspes Emil scored 1 3 and 11 points respectively whereas stopper Dhannraj Singh, Jasraj Toor and Jaswinder Bhola got 8, 5 and 5 point respectively. From Afghanistan’s side its raiders Saifulla and Nazib Alla Garzeji clinched 7 point each and raiders Parvaiz Sakhizada and Sapiulla scored 6 and 2 point respectively.

Second match of the day was played between women teams of Denmark and Canada. Sukhbir Singh Badal, Deputy Chief Minister Punjab inaugurated the match by having introduction with the players of both the teams. Denmark easily won the match by crushing Canadian team with the point difference of 47‑16. Denmark’s raider Ree was Successful in scoring six points where as its stopper Tressa set a new world record by successfully detaining 17 Canadian Players.

The third match was played between the hot favorites heavy weight teams India and England. Match was won by the team India by defeating England with the difference of 57-28 points.  India’s raider Manjinder Sran and Balram Singh scored 10 points each whereas Malwinder Gobindpura, Sukhdev Sukhi and Sukhbir Sarawan got 8, 4 and 2 point respectively. India’s stopper Ekam and Gurjit Gogo scored 7 point each. Sukhwinder Kahlwan, Gurpreet Gopi and Yadwinder clinched 5, 2 and 2 respectively. On part of England its raiders Jaskarn, Gurdev Gopi and Inderjit got 8, 6 and 4 point respectively whereas its stopper Sandeep Namal and Jagtar Singh Jassa scored 5 and 3 points respectively.

Wednesday, December 5, 2012