Nimbus and IHF announce dates for WSH Season 2


Chandigarh, September 6, 2012:After the resounding success of the first season of World Series Hockey, Nimbus and IHF have announced the dates for the second season. The world’s biggest hockey league will be played from December 15, 2012 to January 20, 2013. 

The inaugural season of World Series Hockey was a resounding success with the championship being watched in over 30 countries on television and over 65 countries on YouTube. The unique television tune-ins in India was over 32 million; triple that of the English Premier League in the same period.

The 5 week long inaugural tournament created unprecedented buzz in terms of daily prime time action on television and record fan walk-ins in the stadium. An aggressive 360-degree marketing campaign and extensive media coverage resulted in extremely high awareness and consumption of World Series Hockey.

Yannick Colaco, COO, Nimbus Sport said: “We are delighted to announce the dates of World Series Hockey Season 2. Season 1 was a resounding success for all the stakeholders – players, commercial partners, franchise owners and above all the hockey fans.”

R K Shetty, President, IHF said: “World Series Hockey has clearly emerged as the biggest hockey league in the world and the second biggest sports league in India after IPL. The second season will be bigger and better. We will shortly announce a host of new initiatives along with the format and schedule.”

About World Series Hockey

A joint initiative between the Indian Hockey Federation (“IHF”) and Nimbus Sport, World Series Hockey™ was conceived with the objective to reinvigorate the sport of hockey in Indian and make hockey the “sport of choice” for young Indians. For the first time a significant guaranteed investment into infrastructure and players has given the game a big boost. With the highest prize money in the world for a hockey league, the World Series Hockey™ is an annual event with a multi city franchise-based model. The action packed league features 200 players from India and across the world and will be televised LIVE across 30 countries on multiple media platform. Sher-E-Punjab emerged champions in Season 1.

Thursday, September 6, 2012