NEW PRECEDENT: Perfect Real Estate “All India Sahibzada Ajit Singh Hockey Champion Trophy 2012:


Prize money increased by Rs 1.30 lakh, making it the biggest prize money in country (Rs 8.80 lakh).

Ludhiana, October 20, 2012Perfect Real Estate “All India Sahibzada Ajit Singh Hockey Champion Trophy 2012” will be organised by Sports Council of Ludhiana at Pirthipal Singh Hockey Stadium (Astroturf) at Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, from October 21-27, 2012. This seven -day hockey extravaganza will have the biggest prize money of Rs 8.80 lakh and this will be for the first time that the matches will be played under flood lights.

In men category, the participating teams are Indian Oil Mumbai, BPCL Mumbai, ONGC Mumbai, Indian Air Force, Indian Army, Punjab National Bank, Baba Farid Club and Namdhari XI. Similarly in women category, the participating teams are Central Railway, Gwalior Academy, Chandigarh XI and Rail Coach Factory.

In the second edition of Perfect Real Estate “All India Sahibzada Ajit Singh Hockey Champion Trophy 2012”, a total of 8 teams in men category and four from women category will be pitted against each other for total prize money of Rs 8.8 lakh, which is the highest prize money amongst all non government sponsored tournaments of the country at present. The matches will be played in league cum knockout basis.

The winner of men category will get a whopping prize of Rs 3.75 lakh while the runners up will get Rs 2.25 lakh as prize money. Similarly in women section, the winner will get a prize money of Rs 1.5 lakh, followed by Rs 1 lakh for the runners up team. The winner of women category will also get Prof Nirpjit Kaur Gill Memorial Trophy. Prize money of Rs 5,000 each will be awarded to best goalkeeper (men and women), best scorer (men and women) and best player (men and women).

Olympian Ramandeep Singh Grewal, vice chairman of Sports Council of Ludhiana, said that the live telecast of the final matches to be played on October 27 will be telecast live on national channel “DD SPORTS”.

Hockey Olympian and Chairman of tournament organising committee, S. Hardeep Singh Grewal said, “The opening ceremony of this tournament will see a well-planned cultural programme from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm on October 21.

Charanjit Singh Atwal, speaker of Punjab Vidhan Sabha will be the chief guest, while Dr Baldev Singh Dhillon, Vice Chancellor, Punjab Agricultural University will be the guest of honour. Pargat Singh, hockey Olympian and MLA will preside over the function. During the closing ceremony on October 27, Punjabi singer Satinder Sartaaj will perform live.”

Pirthipal Singh Batala, president, Sports Council of Ludhiana said, “Last year, this tournament was held from March 9-14, 2011. At that time, eight teams from men category and four from women category had competed against each other for total prize money of Rs 4.25 lakh, which has been increased to Rs 8.80 lakh this time.”


Saturday, October 20, 2012