Lyallpur Khalsa College Lifts University Sports Championship 22nd Time


Jalandhar, May 8, 2017: Lyallpur Khalsa College Jalandhar has continued its juggernaut in the field of sports by capturing the prestigious Teja Singh Samundari Overall Sports Trophy of Guru Nanak Dev University Amritsar for record 22nd time. College Principal Dr.Gurpinder Singh Samra expressed his immense delight on winning this trophy for the third time in a row and 22nd time in totality. He also informed that the pedigree of the sports department of the college which has produced 2 Padamsree award winners, 6 Arjuna Awardees, 1 Dronachaya Award winner and 2 Dhyaan Chand award winning players in addition to 17 Olympians as well.
College Principal Dr.Gurpinder Singh Samra attributed the achievements of the college in sports to the efforts of Late S.Balbir Singh former President College Governing Council and ex- Member Parliament. He also informed that under the guidance of College Governing Council President Sardarni Balbir Kaur the College is continuing to promote sports and is offering special facilities to its sports persons –such as liberal concession in fees, free hostel and mess facility.
S. Jaspal Singh Waraich, Joint Secretary College Governing Council, Principal Dr. Gurpinder Singh Samra, Dr. Jaspal Singh, Head, Department of Physical Education, Dean Sports Dr. Simranjeet Singh Bains and Dr. Tarsem Singh congratulated the sports players, coaching staff and the sports committee of the College on this splendid achievement. A Silver medal winning college wrestler at the Commonwealth Greco-Roman Wrestling Championship was also honoured on this occasion.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017