Gursher Singh wins Ludhiana District Chess Championship


Players in action during Ludhiana District  Chess Championship that concluded at St. Thomas Senior Secondary School, Ludhiana on Sunday.

City Air News photo: Mandeep Kumar Verma

Ludhiana, October 14, 2012: Ludhiana District Chess Championship concluded at St. Thomas Senior Secondary School, Ludhiana today.

Chief Guest Upinder Singh (IRTS) Sr. D.O.M. Indian Railway , C.P. Singh Railway Officer,  alongwith Vice President of Punjab State Chess Association Rajinder Sharma distributed  the prizes to winners.

The tournament was a grand success for the promotion of the chess. As Vishwanathan Anand of India has recently won the world chess championship for the fifth time, now parents and children have shown a lot of interest in the game.


153 players competed for 2 days in six rounds in 3 different categories. Gursher Singh wins the District championship for the third time. He was District champion in 2009, 2010, He drew last round game with last year’s district champion Sushant Manuja. Prizes were given to top 3 players in each category. Top 10 players from senior category have been selected to represent Ludhiana District 

Final standing after 6 rounds was as under:

Main Category:

Gursher Singh             5.5

Shubham Shukla         5

Ishaan Bansal              5         

Imanjot Singh Deol     4.5

Sushant Manuja          4.5

Raminderbir Singh    4.5

Amarjit Singh              4

Rishav Katyal             4

Jashanpreet Singh       4

Diljit Singh 4  ( Father of champion Gursher Singh)


1st  Himani Arora                   3 (18.5)                        Greenland  Sr. Sec. School

2nd Meenakshi                                    3 (17.5)                        International Public School

3rd  Sunakshi Batra                3(17)                            Greenland  Sr. Sec. School


Under 11 Boys:

1st:      Rajat Gupta                 5.5                   Ryan International School

2nd:     Pratyoosh Chitkara     5                      BCM , Shastri Nagar

3rd:      Raghav Bansal                        4.5                   Ryan International School

Under 15 Boys:

1st:      Madhur                                   5.5 (23.5)                    Greenland  Sr. Sec. School

2nd:  Sarthak Gupta                5.5  (23)                       Ryan International School

3rd:  Samyak Jain                    5.5  (22)                       Greenland  Sr. Sec. School

Under 15 Girls:

1st  Kanishka Chawla                          4 (23)              Sacred Heart , BRS Nagar

2nd      Himandeep Kaur         4 ( 17)              Ryan International School

3rd:  Apoorva Sharma                         3.5                               Sacred Heart , BRS Nagar

Under 11 Girls:

1st:      Samridhi Manchanda              5.5                               BCM , Shastri Nagar

2nd:     Shailja Kochar                         3.5                              BCM , Shastri Nagar

3rd:      Mahima                                               3.5                               St. Thomas Sr. sec. School     

Sunday, October 14, 2012