43rd Annual Sports prize distribution function of GNDU


Students of BBKDAV College for Women, Amritsar.

Amritsar, March 26, 2013: At the 43rd Annual Sports Prize Distribution Function  for the year 2012-13 of the Guru Nanak Dev University, over 250 outstanding players including 150 women who brought laurels to the University in various sports disciplines at the International, National and All India Inter-Varsity levels were honored with cash prizes worth Rs. 35 lakhs and trophies held here today.

Prof. A.S. Brar, Vice-Chancellor presided over and presented prizes to the winners. Dr. H.S. Randhawa, Deputy Director, Sports and Head read out the Annual Sports Achievements Report for the year 2012-13. Registrar, Dr. Inderjit Singh welcomed the chief guest and others. Dr. Neelam Kamra, Principal BBKDAV College for Women, Vice-President, GND University Sports Committee (Women) presented vote of thanks. Prof. Rajinderjit Kaur Pawar, Dean, Academic Affairs was also present on this occasion.

In this function, the All India Inter-University winners were honored with Rs. 12,000 each, second position holder got Rs 10,000 and Rs. 8,000 each was awarded to third position holders.

Lyallpur Khalsa College, Jalandhar lifted the Guru Nanak Dev University Inter-College 'A' Division Overall General Championship Trophy (Men) by amassing 19900 points while DAV College, Amritsar remained runnersup with 16677 points.

In Women Section, BBK DAV College for Women, Amritsar lifted the GND University Inter-College 'A' Division Overall General Championship Trophy with 24224 points while HMV, Jalandhar remained runnersup with 15287 points.


In 'B' Division, SSM College, Dinanagar won the Overall General Championship Trophy for Men with 1263  points while Guru Nanak College, Batala remained runnersup with 1000 points. In Women section, SDSPM College for Women, Rayya (with 4000 points) lifted the 'B' Division Overall General Championship Trophy while Hindu College, Amritsar remained runnersup with 2100 points.

Shaheed Bhagat Singh Memorial Overall Championship Trophy for the Year 2011-12 alongwith cash prize of Rs. 51,000 went to BBKDAV College for Women, Amritsar by collecting 24224 points and DAV College Amritsar finished second with 16677 points.

During 2012-13, the University teams both Men and Women got 8 positions in International sports event in the event of Asia Cup Cricket held at China, Asian Grand Prix Championship held at Bankok, Asian Power Lifting Championship held at Coimbatore, Asian Race Walk Championship held at Nomi, Asian Air Gun Championship held at Nachang, World Championship Cycling held at Melbourne and World cup Archery and 305 positions in various disciplines in the All India Inter-University Competitions. 

On this occasion, the principals, HoDs of Physical Education and Sports personalities/coaches who made exceptional contribution to the University for winning MAKA Trophy were also honored.

Banished Vera from the University Campus was honored with Rest. 25,000 cash prize who got position in Asian Grand Prix Championship held at Bangkok while Harmanpreet of HMV Jalandhar was awarded with Rs. 25,000 for securing position in Asian Cup Cricket held at China on this occasion.

Lyallpur Khalsa College Jalandhar Overall trophy (Men).

Tuesday, March 26, 2013